Books That Make Us

If you, like me, are a true book lover and are easily effected by them, you know that there are some books that just make you think and reevaluate your whole life and all of your life decisions and help you decide all of the things you want to do in your life, who you want to be, who you want to be with, and make you contemplate things in life you may not have ever though about before. I have read so many books like that, and in my opinion the ones that make you doubt everything you know and change you, are the ones that are worth reading. These are a couple of mine.

Ink heart by Cornelia Funke

20140203-185041.jpg

This book, to shortly sum it up to those who have not yet read it, is about a father and daughter who have the ability, if they read a book aloud, to read characters and objects out of books and read other people into them. This causes problems and there is a trilogy based off of this basic idea. This book is one of the best that I have ever read. One of my favorite quotes, one that really made me think comes from this book.

“If you take a book with you on a journey,” Mo had said when he put the first one in her box, “an odd thing happens: The book begins collecting your memories. And forever after you have only to open that book to be back where you first read it. It will all come into your mind with the very first words: the sights you saw in that place, what it smelled like, the ice cream you ate while you were reading it… yes, books are like flypaper—memories cling to the printed page better than anything else.”

They go on to discuss how this is the reason that books always tend to look a bit bigger each time you read them, because more and more memories keep getting caught in the pages and more and more thoughts stuck between the lines. This book is about a family of book lovers and I would really recommend everyone to read it.

Looking for Alaska and The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I have already made multiple posts about each of these books and my thoughts on them so I won’t bother you with repeating myself more than I already have. These books have really had a huge effect on me and the way that I think of things in my life. They make you think about love and loss and what is really important in your life.

There are countless others, I am sure. Those are simply the ones that come to mind. Books can change and effect your thinking and make you think in ways you never thought possible. Feel free to comment any books that made you re think some things and I’d love to read them c:

Leave a Reply

