Week 1: S’mores Hot Chocolate

Well, its past Thanksgiving, and I’ve worn my first sweater of the year, so its officially Winter in my book! The snow is falling, the sky is foggy, and presents are being bought. The one thing I don’t like about winter is the cold. When you live in the Midwest, the winters can kill you some years. My knee can predict the weather better than the weathermen, it can change 50 degrees in one day, and its pitch black at 4;30. There are also many plusses to the cold weather though, the act of warming up. After a long day of Christmas shopping, or shoveling, or just being awake, the best thing to come home and do is curl up with a good book and a warm steaming cup of hot chocolate. There are so many kinds of hot chocolate out there and each one is better than the last it seems like. My goal for this winter is to put a different hot chocolate recipe each week until Springs sweet return.

This first week since it’s still pretty close to fall, I chose a fall and winter mix of flavours. Smore’s hot chocolate. Everybody loves a good smore over a fire on fall or summer nights, and who doesn’t love some marshmallows in their coco? I thought this was a genius idea and face palmed myself for not thinking of this or doing this before now. It looks like a really good idea that might spice up the normal hot cocoa that comes around every year. As any one else who lives in a cold dreary winter home will know, you can always use some excitement or extra spice in the dark winter time.

I found this specific recipe from the lovely blog The Cultural Dish, you can find their original post and recipe here. This is a really cool blog and y’all should for sure check it out. I, like her, am a huge dark chocolate fan so I thought that this was very good and tasty. I will post my own pictures later, but this is her picture of the creation she made. IMG_2192

S’mores Hot Chocolate

Ingredients:

1/2 cup sugar

-1/3 cup dark cocoa powder

-1/2 teaspoon salt

-Milk

-Marshmallows

-Graham crackers

Directions: In a bowl, whisk together the sugar, cocoa powder, and salt.  This is your hot chocolate mix.  What is great about this, is that you can store it in a container and scoop from it whenever you crave hot chocolate.
When ready to make the hot chocolate, take a mug and fill it with milk about 2/3 of the way up.  Heat the milk for about 1 minute and 30 seconds.  Then, scoop 2 tablespoons of the hot chocolate mix into the mug and stir it in until it dissolves in the milk.  For the purposes of this post, I wet the rim of the mug before filling with milk, so that the graham cracker crumbs would stick to the edge.
Next, break off a few little bits of graham cracker and place them in the mug, on top of the hot chocolate.  Then, pile as many marshmallows as you wish on top of the graham cracker.  I then sprinkled on some more graham cracker crumbs for a little extra crunch!

Using a kitchen torch (or broiler), lightly torch the marshmallows.  Then, grab a spoon, dig in, and enjoy!

For all of you out there, who like me, are dairy free, than this recipe, is one of the few that can easily be adapted into a dairy free by simply exchanging the milk used for water or a dairy free milk. My favourite that I use is the Silk Almond Chocolate milk. It is delicious and even my mother, who is not dairy free, says that she prefers that milk to regular chocolate milk and it is also loads healthier because it’s only 70 calories per glass versus an average of about 209 calories in regular milk.

So I hope everyone enjoys this recipe and keeps looking for future Hot Cocoa recipes to come! Happy Cooking and stay warm out there! 01_snowflake_1

Leave a Reply

