Eating Out- At Home

Everybody loves to go out and have amazing restaurant food, am I right? Although sadly, if you’re as broke as I am, eating out can’t exactly be an every day thing. Wither its to save money, or impress guests with a restaurant style copy cat meal, it’s always been a dream to be able to have your favourite restaurant food at home. Well while looking around the internet I have collected many copy cat restaurant recipes so you can have your favourite foods, but at home. Which is amazing, and a big time, and money, saver. So here are a couple of recipes that copy and tell you how to make your favourite restaurant meals in the comfort of your own home. These are just the beginning few, I will periodically add more as I find some more, so send me a shoutout if you want something specific!

1. Panera- Broccoli and Cheese Soup In a Bread Bowl

fb3ac13ef508cabef583b11dbac1e3ab

Omg, I was psyched when I found this recipe, because this is my number one favourite food, ever. Perfect comfort food, espically now that the weather is getting colder. This is awesome and this recipe was actually tweeted by Panera themselves, so it’s pretty darn good. I got this recipe from  http://www.budgetsavvydiva.com/2012/05/copy-cat-panera-bread-broccoli-cheese-soup-recipe/. They have a great site and the recipe is really easy to follow and they have a great printable form so you can save it for future use. Here is the basic outline of the recipe:

Ingredients
  • ½ medium onion, chopped
  • ¼ cup melted butter
  • ¼ cup flour
  • 2 cups half-and-half ( or skim milk)
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • ½ pound fresh broccoli ( florets only)
  • 1 cup carrots, julienne
  • ¼ teaspoon of salt
  • ¼ teaspoon nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoon pepper
  • 8 ounces grated cheddar cheese
Instructions
  1. Saute onions in a little butter in a small pan – set aside.
  2. In a large stockpot ( I accidentally used a medium-size pan) – melt butter. Add flour and mix for 3 minutes.
  3. Slowly add half- half – mixing the entire time.
  4. Slowly add chicken stock- mixing the entire time.
  5. Let simmer on low for 20 minutes.
  6. Add broccoli, carrots; onions and cook on low for 25 minutes.
  7. Season with salt, pepper; nutmeg.
  8. Place soup in a blender or use an immersion blender and puree.
  9. Heat soup over low heat and add cheese and mix till melted.
  10. Serve ( hopefully in a bread bowl) and Enjoy :)

This is a pretty advances recipe, but it’s not too hard to follow. It will take a little bit of time and it might be a bit intense for a simple bowl of soup for you, but I personally think it is very well worth it. I mean its Panera 😛

If you are like me and want a bread bowl for it too, I found a recipe on a different site, http://www.food.com/recipe/homemade-bread-bowls-495386, that you can totally check out and make that along with it. If your gunna have your cake, you might as well eat it too! I know this sounds like an amazing Saturday afternoon homemade meal.

2. Starbucks Frappuccino

I can’t be the only one out there with an unhealthy Starbucks and coffee addiction right? I would save soooo much money if I just made all my coffee needs at home with my parents food. Well luckily you can!! Yayyyy. So I found this fabulous recipe, this is for a Carmel frapp, but you can easily substitute different ingredients for a different flavor, and even make your own and make your millions selling homemade coffee. I got this recipe from the lovely blog, Mrs. Scales’ Recipes n’ Things, its  a wonderful blog that I really enjoyed.

This version is skinny and gluten free, but yet again you can substitute any ingredients to totally make it your own. So for example I would use soy milk instead of regular milk for the vegan side of it.

Very low calorie version of the Starbucks favorite.. gluten free to boot

 Ingredients:

3 cups ice cubes (3 big handfuls of cubed ice, not crushed ice) 1 cup cold strong coffee, previously brewed and chilled 1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk (or your favorite milk) sugar-free sweetener (Splenda, or your favorite), to taste… I used 4 or 5 packets of splenda cuz i like sweet. 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract, optional 2 tablespoons fat free whipped topping, for garnishing 1 tablespoon sugar free caramel sauce for garnishing

Directions:

  1. Combine first 5 ingredients in the canister of a blender  and blend until smooth, creamy, fluffy, frothy, and combined, less than 1 minute. Taste, and if necessary, adjust with a splash more coffee,  milk, dash of sweetener, or a few ice cubes.
  2. Garnish with whipped topping and caramel sauce. Serve immediately.

Tip – Make the full batch and place un-garnished extra portion of  frappuccino in a freezer-safe mug. Later on, simply let it unthaw a bit, either 30 minutes at room temp or about 1 minute in the microwave.
Recipe as seen on averie cooks.

The full recipe, a good 24+ ounces, is essentially calorie-free, until garnishing.
3 cups ice cubes = 0 calories
1 cup of strong cold coffee = 0 calories
1/2 cup unsweetened vanilla almond milk = 15 calories for 24+ ounces (almost negligible over the big batch)
sugarfree sweetener (white stevia powder, liquid vanilla stevia drops, Splenda, or your favorite) = 0 calories
optional vanilla extract = o calories
Garnish with 2 tablespoons fat free whipped topping = 5 calories
Garnish with 1 tablespoon sugarfree caramel sauce = 45 calories
= Grand total of 50 calories

These are just a few copy cat recipes and over time I will be trying out and making more of them, but for now I will leave you with these. I really liked these and hopefully you enjoy them too c: If you want me to find any specific copy cat recipe just give me a shout out! Happy Cooking!
Leave a Reply

