Salsa Chicken

Hello, all! Happy Tuesday! It has been a long week already and it is only the second day, I tell you. Well it’s the first day of October, yayyy! The month where fall officially starts, leaves change colours, and Halloween is on it’s way. In the near future I do hope to make some Halloween deserts that I have found, I am very excited to try them and share them. Although this post is about a different recipe that I recently found. My parents anniversary was last Wednesday, and my present to them was cooking them a special dinner, partly because I’m too broke to buy them dinner. So after perusing the wonderfulness that is Pinterest (common theme, right?), I found an awesome looking recipe for salsa chicken, and so I went to work. The recipe that I decided to use is from KitchMe and you can find it online here —–> http://www.kitchme.com/recipes/salsa-chicken-3-ww-points?invite=27wm

This is actually a really easy and simple recipe that seems a lot classier and complicated than it really is, I would highly recommend it. I got wonderful reviews from my parents, thankfully. Here is a basic copy of the recipe and instructions:

6 oz boneless skinless boneless, skinless chicken breast, halves
3⁄4 cup salsa
1⁄2 cup green onion, sliced
1⁄4 cup parmesan cheese, grated

Directions
1.Preheat oven to 350*F.
2.Place chicken in an 11 × 7-inch baking dish coated with cooking spray. Spoon salsa evenly over chicken; top with green onions. Sprinkle with cheese.
3.Cover and bake for 30 minutes.
4.Uncover and bake an additional 10 minutes or until chicken is done.
5.Serve with hot cooked rice or baked potatoes.

I adapted this recipe slightly and experimented a little to make it have a little more flavor. I decided to sprinkle taco seasoning over the chicken also to make it have a bit of a kick. That is an optional seasoning, but I thought that it was really good. So you begin with the basic ingredients like so.

securedownload

Than as the directions state, you preheat the oven and get your pan ready by spraying a nonstick spray on it. Now if you decided to add the taco seasoning like I did, just grab a spoon and lightly sprinkle the seasoning on both sides of the chicken, BOTH SIDES, before you put the chicken in your cooking pan. Than you can put the salsa on the chicken. I used about 1/3 of my jar of salsa by grabbing a spoon and spooning the salsa on the chicken. Than you can put the chicken in, and set the timer.

photo 4

Now for the sides to my dinner I chose to make garlic bread from Hy-Vee, mashed potato’s, and vegetables. Garlic bread it pretty simple to make, the one that I got came in a big loaf and you just cut it in slices, put them on a pan, and put butter and a bit of garlic on them, and in the oven for about 10 minutes they go. Mashed potato’s and microwaveable broccoli are pretty basic also, reading packages and such. So now the finised product.

dreweg

rteqtweq

The dinner looked and smelled delicious and I got great reviews from my parents so I am assuming they liked it! It was really fun to make and I would do it again in a heartbeat and hope that maybe I will be allowed to make dinner in the future now. Well I’d love to hear any suggestions or comments! Keep cooking, all! Happy October 1st c:

P.S.- If anyone finds any recipies for Halloween treats or related foods that they would recommend and like to share with me, I would be in your debt! Thank you! c:

Leave a Reply

