Peanut Butter Brownie Puppy Chow

Woot! TGIF! It has been some week, I’ll tell ya. Emotional stress, tests galore, family plans every night, and that’s just the beginning. So stressed out teenage girl + Friday = chocolate. Well I decided to make something different that I found today, peanut butter brownie puppy chow. I saw this title and immediately my stomach growled. Combining some of the greatest foods in the world, I think yes! c: I was so excited to try these and I was not disappointed. My lovely nephew was even over to help me out with the cooking (and tasting of course). I made it my duty to teach this 13 year old boy to cook good food, more men need to learn to cook! o: so we set off, after an adventure in getting supplies at target, we headed off to begin. Here is the recipe that I used from Pinterest: ((click here for website)

ingredients

6 C. rice Chex cereal
1 C. milk chocolate melts or chips
1/2 C. peanut butter, creamy
1 tsp. vanilla extract
1 C. brownie mix, from the box
Optional: Peanut Butter Brownies, Reese’s Pieces, or Peanut butter cups (chopped)
directions

1. Place cereal in a large bowl and set aside.
2. In a microwave proof bowl, melt chocolate, peanut butter and vanilla extract and stir until smooth.
3. Pour over cereal and fold until covered.
4. Dump into a large plastic bag and add brownie mix, seal and shake until coated. (If you don’t have a large plastic bag, pour brownie mix over cereal and stir well. Or you can use a pot with a lid to shake it in.)
5. Dump onto a cookie sheet and toss with pieces of brownie or peanut butter brownies (or even Reeses Pieces or peanut butter cups would be great!). But TRUST me, you will be addicted to this puppy chow, so beware.
Copyright © YourCupofCake

The directions as such are pretty self explanatory c: these are pretty easy to make you just have to be very careful and it helps to have a friend with you c: you have to be very careful not to burn the chocolate when you heat it up. There is such a thing as bad chocolate, and that is white chocolate, and burnt chocolate. How I heated it up was poured half of the chocolate chips in the bag we got in a microwave safe bowl, and put the peanut butter and vanilla in there. (That was a challenge, peanut butter is sticky! Using a spatula helps, obviously) I put this mixture in the microwave for about 45 seconds. I than took it out stirred it up for a while, and put it in for another 30-45 seconds. When I mixed that with the cereal, I had my helper hold two plastic bags one inside the other (from a bad experience with puppy chow all over the floor before) and put the chocolate covered cereal in the bags. That I put the brownie mix in and some powdered sugar to taste. One helpful hint is to add some brownie chunks and chunks of peanut butter cups, it’ll really bring out the flavour, although it still tastes awesome without c:

Overall I thought these were awesomeeee xD I loved em, they have a really good flavour, and an awesome sweet tooth fixer :3 haha totally recommend 100%

One helpful tip, if you want to use a whole box of chex cereal than just double the chocolate, vanilla, and brownie mix and it should cover it well, I made a whole box worth.

Have a great (and hopefully relaxing) weekend all, and happy cooking! c:

Leave a Reply

