Vegan-Eggless Brownies

Woot! Happy Sunday all! Hopefully everyone had good weekends and such. c: Well today I decided to post one of my favourite vegan recipies, my eggless brownies. This recipe is not mine and take no credit for it, I simply use it and spread it along. These brownies are so good, they’re chewy and moist and perfectly chocolaty. What more could I ask for, am I right? I made these last night and took them to my church service this morning and nobody could tell that they were any different than any other brownies. Awesomeeee! Here is the recipe made by Bridget Brooke, you can find the original here; http://allrecipes.com/recipe/egg-free-brownies/

1/3 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup water

1/2 cup butter (Use margarine instead to make them vegan)

2/3 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

2 cups white sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)

Directions

1.Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9×13 inch pan. In a heavy saucepan combine the 1/3 cup of flour and water. Cook over medium heat stirring constantly until thick. Transfer to a mixing bowl and set aside to cool.
2.In a small saucepan, melt butter. When butter has melted, add the cocoa and mix until smooth; set aside to cool. Beat the sugar and vanilla into the cooled flour mixture. Stir in the cocoa mixture until well blended. Combine the flour, baking powder and salt, stir into the batter until just blended. Fold in walnuts if desired. Spread evenly in the prepared pan.
3.Bake for 20 to 25 minutes in the preheated oven, until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Cool before cutting into bars.
Kitchen-Friendly View
PREP 20 mins
COOK 25 mins
READY IN 45 mins

My Thoughts:
Being an unexperienced cook, I will admit to having to ask my mom for help for the beginning, heating up the flour and water but once you get the hang of it or actually know what you’re doing, it’s a piece of cake! It may look a little odd, but stick with them, and you will be amazed at the results!
This recipe makes about 20 brownies depending on how you cut them. One thing I really love about this site though, is that if you actually go on it you can adjust the serving size and change it to make more or less brownies. So if you want to make the ever popular pinterest brownie in a mug, you can adjust it as pleases. It is super amazing and handy because the computer does all of the work for you o: (That’s great for lazy people such as myself)
Overall I think these are really good compared to some of the other experimental brownies and other desserts that we have tried in the past and would really recommend them to anybody. One thing to beware of though is that they are very moist and crumbly, that makes them taste fabulous, although they are not very sturdy in the fact that they will really easily fall apart when you cut them so they won’t cut in perfect straight lines if that really bothers you. In my opinion it makes them that much better and they taste good, so that all that really matters, am I right?
Well try these brownies and let me know what you think! I know I love em. Happy cooking all c:

One thought on “Vegan-Eggless Brownies

  1. Pingback: Basic Eggless Vanilla Sponge | Mind Brew

Leave a Reply

